ASH to present honorific awards


Receive an email when new articles are posted

Enter your email address to receive an email when there are new articles on . ” data-action = “subscribe” > Subscribe

We were unable to process your request. Try again later. If this problem persists, please contact

Back to Healio

ASH will present honorary awards to several hematologists at this year’s annual ASH meeting, scheduled for Dec. 11-14.

The awards recognize clinicians and scientists who have made significant contributions to the field.

“We commend this year’s award winners whose achievements demonstrate what an exciting time it is in our field,” ASH President Martin S. Tallman, MD, professor of medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College and chief of leukemia service at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, in a press release issued by the society. “Their meaningful advances in patient care, research and mentorship have directly improved the lives of people with blood disorders.”

Harvey Lodish

Harvey Lodish, PhD, a molecular and cellular biologist at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, receives the Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology.

Lodish’s research has examined the structure and biogenesis of red blood cells. His work has provided important insights into beta thalassemia and his lab pioneered the cloning of red blood cell membrane proteins.

Margaret A. Shipp

Margaretha A. Shipp, MD, chair in lymphoma at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and Stephen mr. Ansell, doctor, doctorate, professor of medicine at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, receives the Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize.

The award honors one person for enabling advances in basic science and another for using clinical science or translational research to drive fundamental scientific advances into tangible improvements in patient care.

Shipp received the Basic Science Award for her work understanding the genomics of Hodgkin lymphoma and its effects on the tumor environment.

Stephen mr. Ansell

Ansell, a HemOnc Today editorial board member whose work focuses on understanding the tumor microenvironment in lymphoma, received the translational/clinical award for his efforts to identify approaches to therapy using immune cells targeting the malignant clone.

Deepika Darbari, MD, from the Children’s National Hospital and the George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, receives the ASH Award for Leadership in Promoting Diversity.

Darbari will be recognized for her contributions to mentoring and training researchers from underrepresented minorities, and for advancing the care of underrepresented patient populations, including those living with sickle cell disease.

Elizabeth Nemeth

Elizabeth Nemeth, PhD, from the University of California, Los Angeles, will receive the William Dameshek Prize, awarded to an early or mid-career hematologist who has recently made outstanding contributions to the field of hematology.

Nemeth will be recognized for her work to understand the regulation of iron homeostasis. Her work helped define the role of the iron-regulating hormone hepcidin in several iron disorders, including beta thalassemia and inflammatory anemia.

Connie Westhoff, PhD, from the New York Blood Center, receives the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Prize, which recognizes groundbreaking research achievements that represent a paradigm shift or significant discovery.

Westhoff, a transfusion medicine researcher, found that RH genetic diversity and mutation contribute to Rh incompatibility after blood transfusion.

Denisa Wagner, PhD, from Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital, and Kwaku Ohene-Frempong, MD, Emeritus Director of the Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania, receive the Henry M. Stratton Medal.

The prize honors two senior researchers who have made significant contributions to basic and clinical/translational hematology research over several years.

Wagner, the prizewinner of basic science, is known for her contributions in the fields of vascular biology, inflammation and thrombosis. She discovered that von Willebrand factor is in a reservoir in endothelial cells, ready to line the insides of blood vessels to promote platelet and leukocyte recruitment.

Ohene-Frempong, the translational/clinical contractor, has established many current standards of practice for the treatment of sickle cell disease. His research provided insight into the frequency of strokes in children with sickle cell disease, leading to studies that established transcranial Doppler screening for the assessment of stroke risk in this population.

Jonathan Light, MD, from the University of Florida Cancer Center, and Anthony Goldstone, BM BCh, FRCP, FRCPath, from University College London Hospital, will receive ASH Mentor Awards for their contribution to the professional development of various hematology interns.

Light, the basic science winner, has served as a mentor in the ASH-EHA Translational Research Training in Hematology 1-year mentorship and training program, as well as in his role as director of the University of Florida Cancer Center.

Goldstone, the clinical winner, is known for his expertise in bone marrow transplantation. He has shared his expertise with the next generation of leaders in the field by taking an active mentoring role among a diverse population of interns at his institution.


Receive an email when new articles are posted

Enter your email address to receive an email when there are new articles on . ” data-action = “subscribe” > Subscribe

We were unable to process your request. Try again later. If this problem persists, please contact

Back to Healio

ASH Annual meeting and exhibition

Comments are closed.